How to Make Faux Fur Look New Again

Don’t you love how faux fur avoids the whole Animal Cruelty issue? Don’t you hate how once you wash it, even on a delicate cycle (you know you hate dry cleaning bills), it clumps up and looks nasty?

Well guess what? I have discovered a solution!

The idea actually came to me one day when I was grooming my cat. Even though Ryokuu is a shorthair, he just LOVES being brushed, and I noticed one day how much smoother and softer he was after I had brushed him. Suddenly, I thought, “If this brush works on real fur, why wouldn’t it work on faux fur?” I quickly grabbed my favourite winter purse, which was starting to look messy, and gave it a brushing. It worked! My purse appeared new again!

My daughters have these matching Koala shirts that they got from their Oma and Opa after a trip to Australia. Here’s what the shirts look like after they’ve been washed and dried:

How to Make Faux Fur Look New Again | Random Housewifery

You will need: one Slicker Brush. You can find them in the grooming section of pretty much any pet store.

How to Make Faux Fur Look New Again | Random Housewifery

This is what a Slicker Brush looks like. They can be rectangular, like mine, or round, but the main thing is that they have these very fine bristles. Mine are made of metal.

How to Make Faux Fur Look New Again | Random Housewifery

Take your Slicker Brush, place the T-shirt (or whatever) on a tabletop or other firm surface, and begin to brush the faux fur. You want to brush in every direction, until there are no clumps left. Horizontally. . .

How to Make Faux Fur Look New Again | Random Housewifery

Vertically, diagonally, etc. Until. . .

How to Make Faux Fur Look New Again | Random Housewifery

Ta-da! The shirt looks new again! Amazing! And that only took about one minute of brushing.

How to Make Faux Fur Look New Again | Random Housewifery

What a difference, eh?

Now I don’t particularly care about these T-shirts, nor are they of a very delicate nature, so I was able to brush quite quickly and roughly. You’d want to be a little (or a lot) more slow and careful with, say, your favourite faux fur winter purse (just as a random, non-specific example).

Using a slicker brush does remove some of the hairs, but not a lot. I’ve been brushing some of my clothing for years now, with no noticeable thinning or bare patches. Works great for the annual washing of the stuffies, too!

My furry white winter boots: The one on the right has been brushed.
My furry white winter boots: The one on the right has been brushed.
Leave a Reply

