DIY Simple Easter Arrangement

Easter is just around the corner, and I’m scrambling to get things ready! I’m hosting the family dinner this year, and of course, being me, I want everything to be perfect.

It would have been easier to just re-create this floral centrepiece that I made last year, but what’s the fun in that? I put those faux florals to use in a different way this year, and realized that I really needed a substantial arrangement for my coffee table.

This is that arrangement:

DIY Simple Easter Arrangement | Random Housewifery

It was VERY fast and easy to make.

All you’ll need is:

DIY Simple Easter Centrepiece | Random Housewifery

• A large-ish basket or other vessel
• Florist foam
• 10 stems of faux Easter Lily bushes
• Faux greenery (I used ferns that I already had)
• Some real or fake moss
• Two sticks, one significantly longer than the other
• Twine/string/rope

DIY Simple Easter Centrepiece | Random Housewifery

Step 1: Place your foam in your basket. (Mine is re-used from last year, hence the holes). You could first line the basket with plastic to contain any potential mess.

DIY Simple Easter Centrepiece | Random Housewifery

Step 2: Insert three of your Lily stems into the foam, slightly off-centre. (I scored my faux Lilies for just $2/bunch, instead of the usual $5. Boo-yah!)

DIY Simple Easter Centrepiece | Random Housewifery

DIY Simple Easter Centrepiece | Random Housewifery

Step 3: Insert the remaining seven Lily stems around the first three, placing them at a slight angle to create a mounded effect, and cutting the stems shorter if necessary. (This will depend on the shape and depth of your vessel and your foam. I had to trim my stems with my husband’s sidecutters).

Pack the stems fairly close together for a full, bushy look. This gives you more visual impact.

DIY Simple Easter Centrepiece | Random Housewifery

Step 4: Fill in the rest of the space with your greenery.

DIY Simple Easter Centrepiece | Random Housewifery

Step 5: Cover any exposed foam with the moss. I’m not exactly sure what my stuff is, but I got it for free from my Mother-in-Law when she was decluttering a few months ago, and it worked great! I think you can buy it at most garden centres, and maybe even the floral department of your favourite grocery store.

Back View
Back View

Here is the arrangement so far. If you’re not a Christian, you could add some detail by means of a few Easter eggs or a cute little bunny, and be finished at this point.

I went out into my yard, found an Aspen sapling that had been cut down a few years ago (we always have plenty of those), and pruned a couple of pieces to the sizes I wanted. The bark was rotting, so it peeled off quite easily. I took my stripped sticks indoors, washed them, let them dry, and tied them together with some hemp twine. Voilá! I had a cross. It was a bit difficult to insert such a thick “stem” into the foam, but it finally stuck firmly.

If you’re making a cross, don’t forget to make the vertical piece several inches longer than it looks like it should be. The bottom part will be hidden in your arrangement, but you need that extra length for a secure hold in the foam.

DIY Simple Easter Arrangement | Random Housewifery

Finished! I’m very happy with my coffee table centrepiece, and I love the visual reminder of the real meaning of Easter.

Of course, you could do this exact arrangement with real Easter Lilies and Ferns! Simply be sure to line your basket with sturdy plastic (like the poly they use on houses), and use potting soil instead of florist foam. Don’t overwater, since any extra would have nowhere to go and just sit in the bottom, causing root rot and plant death. I like to go by the weight of my live plant centrepieces: dry soil weighs a lot less. You can also shove your finger into the soil to see if it’s dry, moist, or soaking wet. (You want it moist).

I’d have gone the real route in a heartbeat if I weren’t hosting the family dinner this year, since I adore the fragrance of Easter Lilies. They’re pretty much my Mother-in-Law’s worst scent allergy though, and I have no wish to kill her (contrary to the stereotype of M-i-L’s).

Happy Easter, everyone!

“For the Son of Man came to seek and save those who are lost” – Luke 19:10 (NLT)

Leave a Reply

